Introduction to Chakras

Lotus meditation and seven chakrasChakra is the Sanskrit word for “wheel.” Our chakras are invisible energy centers, vortices of spinning energy along the center core of our bodies, interfacing between the physical and subtle (intangible) worlds.

Some people can “see” or “feel” the chakras . You may even be able to do this yourself. Lie on your back and pass your hand over your front midline, a few inches above your body. You may feel the chakras as intense concentrations of energy; you may even feel the actual spin.

There are seven major chakras along the spine. Each chakra gives off one of the seven colors of the rainbow. Thus, when all the chakras are open and a person is vibrant and healthy, all the colors of the rainbow appear in the electromagnetic energy field, the aura, that surrounds the body. Each of the seven chakras is associated with a primary function and has an anatomical correspondent that is influenced by the chakra itself. Therefore, the chakras, although subtle in their energy, directly affect various conditions of our physical manifestion. You can relate the Chakras with the Healing properties of Colors we are introducing in other Newsletters. This will help you expand your awareness and understanding of the subtle energies of the Chakras.

There are varying degrees of openness which relates to the amount of energy flowing through the chakra. When fully open, the chakra is charged with energy; when closed, there is very little energy moving through it. When the chakras are too receptive (open) or too non-receptive (closed) to energy planes, imbalance and pain are inevitable. By knowing which chakras are open or closed, we are better able to understand ourselves. It is through the chakras that we are able to receive and transmit social, sexual, mental and spiritual energy.

The first chakra is the Base or Root Chakra. It is located at the base of the spine. Its color is red. This is the center of manifestation. The Root Chakra gives us the energy to succeed; it is the center of survival and security. Its energy relates to the nervous system, male reproductive organs, bladder, spine and circulation.

The second chakra is called the Sacral Chakra. It is located about two inches below the navel, just above the genitals. Its color is orange. The chakra is the center of emotions, intuition and how we relate to others, or relationships. It is also the center for female sexuality and directly affects reproduction.

The third chakra is called the Navel Chakra or Solar Plexus center. It is located below the breastbone or sometimes shown at the navel. Its color is yellow. This chakra is the center of personal power, will, creativity. It is your “gut instinct.” In the martial arts, the third chakra is considered the center of chi (see Feng Shui), the life force energy. Thus, this chakra relates to physical abilities and athletic prowess. The energy here is associated with the adrenals, digestive organs, diaphragm, liver, gall bladder and pancreas.

The fourth chakra is the Heart Chakra. Its color is green. The Heart Chakra is the center of love and compassion, for ourselves and others. It relates to the heart, lungs and immune system, and manifests in our bodily circulation.

The fifth chakra is the Throat Chakra. Its color is blue. It is the seat of communication and expression. Through his chakra, we speak our truth. The energy here also affects the thyroid and the ears. An open Throat Chakra allows us to speak, sing, scream and cry whenever necessary.

The sixth chakra is located between and above the eyebrows and is often called the Third Eye. This is our psychic center as well as our intuitive center. Its color is indigo; its energy affects the pituitary glands, and our nervous system. This is our “sixth sense.”

The seventh chakra is the Crown Chakra. Its color is violet. It is our center of spirituality, wisdom and understanding. An open Crown Chakra allows us to realize oneness with everything around us; enlightenment. When we have inspiration, it is due to the energies of the Crown Chakra.

Each of us needs a little fine tuning of our chakras every now and then. Crystal bowls imbued with a specific tonal quality as well as Tibetan bowls and bells can be used for this purpose. Some energy work or crystal healing can prove invaluable in balancing our chakras and enhancing our overall physical and emotional health. Crystals are the keys that open or subdue the chakras with each chakra using discrete crystals to accomplish these tasks. However, to balance the upper four chakras in general, use Chinese fluorite. To bring calming, peaceful love energy to relationships, choose rose quartz . If your goal is to enhance your psychic abilities, azurite is one of the crystals to clear and stimulate the chakras towards this end.

Appointment Request

About the Center for the New Age

Spirit guided us to this special place which centuries earlier was used by ancient people as a ceremonial site. We were guided by Spirit to open the Center at this place which is now the heart of spirituality in Sedona.

We’ve searched the globe and pulled the most accurate Psychics and Healers and amazing Massage-Therapists from all over the world who have come here to be part of this special community, whose energy makes them even more psychic. Their services are offered at the Center daily and by phone at (928) 282-2085.

Center for the New Age
341 State Route 179
across from Tlaquepaque
Sedona, AZ 86336-6111

888-881-6651 Free
928-282-2085 Main
928-282-7220 Concierge

Gift Ideas

Find the perfect gift for your loved one.