Samsara and Nirvana

An ongoing cycle of birth, life, death, rebirth or reincarnation is assumed as a fact of nature in most Indian philosophical traditions including Hinduism and Buddhism. This process of continuous pursuit or “flow of life,” is known as “Samsara.”
Life is not considered to begin with birth and end in death, but is seen as a continuous existence in the present lifetime of the organism and extending beyond. The nature of the actions (karma) committed during the course of each lifetime, (good or ill) determines the future destiny of each being.
Life is not considered to begin with birth and end in death, but is seen as a continuous existence in the present lifetime of the organism and extending beyond. The nature of the actions (karma) committed during the course of each lifetime, (good or ill) determines the future destiny of each being.
Samsara is closely linked with the idea of a rebirth, but mainly refers to the condition of life, and the experience of life in the reincarnation itself. It refers to mundane existence, often full of suffering and misery. Samsara is a negative condition that can be abated through religious practice concluding in the achievement of enlightenment that leads to the attainment of “Nirvana,” the cessation of the reincarnation process.
The doctrine of samsara obviates any dream of an eternally happy afterlife. If we are condemned to remain through birth after birth, the goal of existence is not an eternity in a blissful afterlife, but liberation from samsara. This quest for liberation forms the fundamental doctrine of the Indian philosophies.
In Buddhism, the journey to Nirvana is achieved by following the Buddha’s Four Nobel Truths that center around
– the universality of suffering
– the origin of suffering
– the overcoming of suffering and
– the way leading to the suppression of suffering
The First Noble Truth: Buddha proclaimed life is full of pain and sorrow. For anyone to believe otherwise is to believe an illusion. People, according to Buddha, fool themselves to think life is also filled with happiness, because happiness can never compensate for all the suffering we experience.
The Second Noble Truth teaches suffering is due to “false desires of our senses that deceive us into clinging to a temporary world. This is at the heart of the Buddha’s revelation. “The cause of suffering is desire, craving due to ignorance.”
The Third Noble Truth teaches the way out of suffering is separate yourself from false desires of the temporary self, to give up physical, emotional, and mental cravings because these are all delusions of permanence. All desire is the cause of suffering.
The Fourth Noble Truth is the Buddhist way of life, the practical steps to attain nirvana. These eight branches, the Buddha taught must be adopted by someone who desires to be delivered from suffering. They are known as the Noble Eightfold Path.

  1. Right Views (understanding): Belief that the Four Noble Truths are true, accurate, and reliable.
  2. Right Aspirations (ambition): A “total commitment of body, mind, and will to the training and discipline required to extricate oneself from the human predicament.” One must resolve to maintain thoughts “free from lust, ill will, cruelty, or untruthfulness” and “renounce the selfish self and sensual pleasures.”
  3. Right Speech (communication): One’s words “must be not only charitable but also free from egocentricity.” One must abstain from “gossiping, lying, tattling … harsh language, vain talk, or reveling” and speak “kindly, open, and truthful.”
  4. Right Conduct (action): A “beneficent behavior extended universally to all living things coupled with an abstinence from alcohol and drugs, for a person must have complete control over his mind to accomplish the difficult task of redemption.” One should abstain “from killing, stealing, and sexual misconduct” and practice actions that are “peaceful, honest, and pure.”
  5. Right Livelihood (vocation): A “proper means of support … in which a person does not inflict pain on other people or creatures.” A butcher, soldier, fisherman, or exterminator would not fit this path.
  6. Right Effort (endeavor): A willingness to reach “deep inside oneself to draw upon all the energy a person possesses.”9-47 Showing such effort involves “self-training and self-control, self-discipline.” The disciple “puts forth will, he makes effort, he stirs up energy, he grips and forces his mind.”
  7. Right Mindfulness (mind control): Involves paying “close attention to one’s mood, emotions, and feelings,” because “all we are is the result of what we have thought.” Right mindfulness also means examining “every state of feeling in body or mind.”
  8. Right Concentration (deep meditation): A special practice of meditation in which “thought itself … [is] annihilated and the mind rests.” This trance-like state of consciousness is induced through practicing intense concentration on one single object. It progresses through four stages, the end result being “rapture of utter purity of mindfulness … wherein neither ease is felt or any ill.”

Following this Noble Eightfold Path allows someone to eliminate desires that keep a person from reaching nirvana. Once a person reaches “Purity of thought and life,” they become freed from the need of Samsara (rebirth) and are ready to enter that magical state, Nirvana.

About the Center for the New Age

Spirit guided us to this special place which centuries earlier was used by ancient people as a ceremonial site. We were guided by Spirit to open the Center at this place which is now the heart of spirituality in Sedona.
We’ve searched the globe and pulled the most accurate Psychics and Healers and amazing Massage-Therapists from all over the world who have come here to be part of this special community, whose energy makes them even more psychic. Their services are offered at the Center daily and by phone at (928) 282-2085.
Center for the New Age
341 State Route 179
across from Tlaquepaque
Sedona, AZ 86336-6111
888-881-6651 Free
928-282-2085 Main
928-282-7220 Concierge